2010 Vietnamese Tet New Year Celebrations

Last Friday marked Vietnamese Lunar New Year celebrations. The whole Q4JC crew headed up to Fairfield Showgrounds in order to do their thing: vox pops with the celebratory public. Unfortunately, though I lived across the road, barred away by a tall fence, I forgot about the event and hurriedly made my way there with my Q4JC shirt. Unfortunately, I didn’t count for traffic. It took me almost forty minutes until I found parking and met up with the crew at large: Maria Tran, Andy Minh Trieu, Joseph Hieu Dinh, and Soph-ea Moeln.

The Vox Pops was a success! Though I couldn’t make it on time due to the traffic and the very hard-to-reach parking spots, the crew already got some of the word out. After an hour or so, taking character shots and catching up with the great food there, another crew member joined in the celebrations: Steve Ada came by to mix things up a bit. Now with the crew raring to go, we enjoyed the night away… along with still throwing the word out there about the Quest for Jackie Chan project. I’ve met a whole score of new people, including Australian-Vietnamese former Australian Idol contestant Thanh Bui, who performed live at the festival that night.

It was a great turn-out, which would explain the number of parking spaces that had to cater to almost thousands who attended the night. Great food, great fun, and great entertainment! Too bad that through all of the rush, I wasn’t able to take any good photos of the night, especially since iPhones don’t have flash. Otherwise, if any multimedia pops up from the night, they shall be added to this post in the near future.


One comment

  1. Pingback: Vox Pops @ The Vietnamese Tet New Year Festival « Marie Setiawan


Leave a comment